Warriors high performance contracts for Siya Plaatjie and Dyllan Matthews

Siya Plaatjie.Siya Plaatjie.

Fast bowler Siya Plaatjie has moved to the Warriors on a high performance contract ahead of South Africa’s 2022-23 domestic season.

Plaatjie was capped at List A level by Western Province earlier this year – and was recently part of Western Province Cricket Club’s squad for the T20 Community Cup.

🔔 Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

Multiple moves for Matthews

Leg-spinner Dyllan Matthews, meanwhile, has returned to the Warriors. He made five List A appearances for the Warriors in 2020 and, earlier this year, played for KwaZulu-Natal Inland in division two of the One Day Cup and 4-Day Domestic Series.

Matthews has also played for the Cape Cobras and Lions at franchise level – and Easterns and North West in provincial cricket. At 25 years old, he has first-class or List A experience for six teams – and also represented the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants in the Mzansi Super League.

What Warriors head coach Robin Peterson said

All-rounder Tiaan van Vuuren and batsman Josh Chippendale, like Plaatjie and Matthews, has been given a high performance contract from the Warriors.

Chippendale played for the Western Province Colts and debuted for the Warriors in the One Day Cup during the 2021-22 season.

“When we put a youngster out there, it is not a case of us hoping, it is a case of us believing that you can do something and make a difference for us in the game,” Peterson told the HeraldLIVE.

“With Glenton Stuurman, Marco Jansen and Anrich Nortje, who are the core of our bowling resources, missing for a large part of last season, it gave us an opportunity to give guys like Tiaan a chance, so they can build experience.”

Warriors senior contracts

The Warriors, meanwhile, have confirmed the players contracted at senior level ahead of the 2022-23 season.

The 16-man list includes former Western Province and Boland seamer Ziyaad Abrahams, whose move was confirmed last week.

  1. Matthew Breetzke
  2. Wihan Lubbe
  3. Sinethemba Qeshile
  4. Beyers Swanepoel
  5. Jordan Hermann
  6. Marco Jansen
  7. Glenton Stuurman
  8. Rudi Second
  9. Akhona Mnyaka
  10. Lesiba Ngoepe
  11. Diego Rosier
  12. Tristan Stubbs
  13. Ziyaad Abrahams
  14. Kgaudisa Molefe
  15. Mthiwekhaya Nabe
  16. Tsepo Ndwandwa

More latest SA cricket news

Be the first to comment on "Warriors high performance contracts for Siya Plaatjie and Dyllan Matthews"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.