South Africa Over-40 finalise World Cup squad, Derrin Bassage included

South Africa Over-40 cricketSouth Africa Over-40.

The South Africa Over-40 squad for next year’s inaugural Over-40 World Cup in Cape Town and surrounds has been finalised.

The squad comprises the 15 men chosen for the inaugural Africa Cup in Pretoria earlier this year – and former Cape Cobras wicketkeeper-batsman Derrin Bassage.

Prior to Bassage’s inclusion, the 16-man squad effectively had a vacancy due to the unavailability of Western Province Over-40 captain Ashwell Prince.

All-rounders Johan Fourie and Kyle Smit, who did not compete in the Africa Cup due to respective hernia and knee operations, have been selected as well.

Five players who are active in the ongoing 2023-24 Western Province Cricket Association premier league and first division have also been selected. They are:

  • Abdul-aziz Temoor (Hottentots Holland Cricket Club)
  • Jaco Castle (Durbanville Cricket Club)
  • Daniel Styer (Bergvliet Cricket Club)
  • Werner Moolman (Brackenfell Cricket Club)
  • Ridiwaan Williams (Mitchells Plain Cricket Club)

South Africa Over-40 squad

  1. Warren Dugmore (captain)
  2. Abdul-aziz Temoor
  3. Pieter Booysen
  4. Charl Groenewald
  5. Jaco Castle
  6. Lundi Mbane
  7. Brandon Buckley
  8. Daniel Styer
  9. Yasser Ditta
  10. Nathan Jones
  11. Wayne Hendricks
  12. Werner Moolman
  13. Ridiwaan Williams
  14. Kyle Smit
  15. Johan Fourie
  16. Derrin Bassage

The 12-team Over-40 World Cup will be played in the Western Cape, South Africa, from 19 February to 1 March 2024.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

2024 Over-40 World Cup – dates, fixtures, venues

Date Fixture Venue
19 February USA v Australia Claremont Cricket Club
19 February England v Zimbabwe Western Province
19 February Canada v Namibia Cape Town Cricket Club
19 February Sri Lanka v UAE Durbanville Cricket Club
19 February South Africa v Wales Green Point Cricket Club
19 February New Zealand v India Claremont Cricket Club
20 February Zimbabwe v Canada South African College High School (SACS)
20 February England v USA Reddam House Constantia
20 February Namibia v Australia Westerford High School
20 February UAE v India Milnerton High School
20 February Sri Lanka v South Africa Bergvliet High School
20 February Wales v New Zealand Wynberg Boys’ High School
22 February USA v Zimbabwe Bergvliet High School
22 February Canada v Australia Wynberg Boys’ High School
22 February England v Namibia Milnerton High School
22 February UAE v South Africa Bishops Diocesan College
22 February India v Wales Reddam House Constantia
22 February Sri Lanka v New Zealand Westerford High School
23 February Zimbabwe v Namibia Claremont Cricket Club
23 February Australia v England Rondebosch Cricket Club
23 February USA v Canada Western Proivince Cricket Club
23 February Wales v UAE Groot Drakenstein Games Club
23 February South Africa v New Zealand Claremont Cricket Club
23 February India v Sri Lanka Wynberg Cricket Club
25 February Zimbabwe v Australia Groot Drakenstein Game Club
25 February USA v Namibia Rondebosch Cricket Club
25 February Canada v England Green Point Cricket Club
25 February New Zealand v UAE Western Province Cricket Club
25 February Sri Lanka v Wales Cape Town Cricket Club
25 February South Africa v India Durbanville Cricket Club
27 February Match 31: First in group A v second in group B Green Point Cricket Club
27 February Match 32: Second in group A v first in group B Rondebosch Cricket Club
27 February Match 33: Third in group A v fourth in group B Claremont Cricket Club
27 February Match 34: Fourth in group A v third in group B Cape Town Cricket Club
27 February Match 35: Fifth in group A v sixth in group B Claremont Cricket Club
27 February Match 36: Sixth in group A v fifth in group B Durbanville Cricket Club
29 February Match 31 loser v match 32 loser Claremont Cricket Club
29 February Match 33 winner v match 34 winner Claremont Cricket Club
29 February Match 35 winner v match 36 winner Rondebosch Cricket Club
29 February Match 33 loser v match 34 loser Cape Town Cricket Club
29 February Match 35 loser v match 36 loser Green Point Cricket Club
1 March Final Western Province Cricket Club

Over-40 World Cup groups

Group A

  1. England
  2. Australia
  3. United States of America
  4. Zimbabwe
  5. Canada
  6. Namibia

Group B

  1. New Zealand
  2. South Africa
  3. India
  4. Wales
  5. Sri Lanka
  6. United Arab Emirates

MORE latest Over-40 World Cup cricket news