South Western Districts contract Victoria Cricket Club fast bowler

File image: Renaldo Meyer.

Fast bowler Renaldo Meyer has been contracted by South Western Districts for the 2019-20 season.

Meyer represented Victoria Cricket Club in the 2018-19 Western Province Cricket Association premier league.

He played seven first-class fixtures for Western Province between October 2017 and February 2019 – and took a dozen wickets at an average of over 42.

“Meyer, who represented Western Province the past season is a new acquisition to the bowling department,” read a statement from South Western Districts.

Meyer has effectively replaced fellow seamer Marcello Piedt at South Western Districts. Piedt has been contracted by the Titans franchise.

“Marcello, who was on loan with the Titans earlier this season when he represented them in the One Day-Cup also entered a contract with the Pretoria-based franchise for next season,’ read a statement from South Western Districts,” continued the statement.

“Piedt has a prolific first-class record of 187 wickets in 55 matches at an average of just 23.85, and will be eager to gain regular exposure at franchise level for the first time.”

SWD contracted squad for 2019-20 season: Herschell America, Kirwin Christoffels, Jean du Plessis, Richardt Frenz, Neil Hornbuckle, Brendon Louw, Renaldo Meyer, Tsepo Ndwandwa, Yamkela Oliphant, Stefan Tait and Mesuli Vuba. Mthobeli Bangindawo, Ndumiso Mvelase, Bradley de Villiers, Todd Walker, Bailey Aarons, Levin Muller, Travis Ackerman and Jhedli van Briesies.