Strandfontein, Hottentots Holland, Glamorgan, Belhar triumph on Ama20 Competition finals day

File image: Strandfontein Cricket Club.

Strandfontein Cricket Club were crowned 2018-19’s Western Province Cricket Association Ama20 Competition first division A champions, after beating Avendale Cricket Club by seven wickets in Saturday, 27 April’s final at Newlands.

Avendale Cricket Club and Strandfontein Cricket Club had welcomed first division A semi-final victories over Northerns Goodwood Cricket Club and United Cricket, respectively, to reach the final.

The result capped a successful season for Strandfontein Cricket Club, who occupied second position in the WPCA first division A – and will be promoted to the 2019-20 premier league.

  • In the Ama20 Competition first division B final, Hottentots Holland Cricket Club beat Somerset West Cricket Club by 26 runs.

Hottentots Holland Cricket Club and Somerset West Cricket Club had claimed first division B semi-final victories over Pinelands Cricket Club and Montrose Cricket Club, respectively, to reach the final.

File image: Hottentots Holland Cricket Club.

  • The first division C final saw Glamorgan Cricket Club outdo Kensington Cricket Club.

Glamorgan Cricket Club and Kensington Cricket Club had achieved first division C semi-final victories over Atlantis Cricket Club and Macassar Cricket Club, respectively, to reach the final.

File image: Glamorgan Cricket Club.

  • Belhar Cricket Club defeated Mitchells Plain Cricket Club by four wickets in the first division D final.

Mitchells Plain Cricket Club and Belhar Cricket Club had earned first division D semi-final victories over Peninsula Cricket Club and Seacrest Cricket Club, respectively, to reach the final.

File image: Belhar Cricket Club.