Who did Sunrisers Eastern Cape retain and release for 2024 SA20?

Sunrisers Eastern CapeSunrisers Eastern Cape.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape’s preliminary squad for 2024’s edition of the SA20 has been announced. The squad will be finalised at 27 September 2023’s player auction.

The Sunrisers are the reigning SA20 champions. They have released these players for the 2024 SA20:

  1. Roelof van der Merwe
  2. James Fuller
  3. Marques Ackerman
  4. Jordan Cox
  5. Mason Crane
  6. Junaid Dawood

“After an unforgettable showing in the first season, Roelof van der Merwe has made himself unavailable for the next SA20,” read a statement from the franchise.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape preliminary squad

England duo Liam Dawson and Dawid Malan will be with the Sunrisers for the 2024 SA20.

1. Ottniel Baartman Pre-signed SA
2. Aiden Markram Pre-signed SA
3. Liam Dawson Pre-signed Overseas
4. Dawid Malan Pre-signed Overseas
5. Marco Jansen Retained SA
6. Tristan Stubbs Retained SA
7. Sisanda Magala Retained SA
8. Brydon Carse Retained Overseas
9. Simon Harmer Traded SA
10. Temba Bavuma Retained SA
11. Sarel Erwee Retained SA
12. Jordan Hermann Retained SA
13. Aya Gqamane Retained SA
14. Adam Rossington Retained Overseas
15. Tom Abell Retained Overseas
16. Craig Overton Wildcard Overseas
17. Auction pick At auction SA or overseas
18. Auction pick At auction SA or overseas
19. Rookie draft pick At auction SA

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

SA20 league commissioner Graeme Smith said: “The quality of the players already included in the squads, including a few newcomers, is testimony to the success of the inaugural season.”

MORE latest SA20 news