SWD’s Union Stars Cricket Club win inaugural Women’s T20 Club Championship

Union Stars Cricket Club WomenUnion Stars Cricket Club.

Union Stars Cricket Club, from South Western Districts, won the inaugural Women’s T20 Club Championship last week.

Union Stars Cricket Club were unbeaten throughout the tournament, which featured five other teams:

  • Avion Park Cricket Club (Northerns);
  • Kalahari Eye Warriors Cricket Club (Free State);
  • Lindelani Cricket Club (KwaZulu-Natal);
  • United Cricket Club (Eastern Province); and
  • Wanderers Cricket Club (Gauteng).

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Batters Mieke de Ridder and Askahe Nyovane, bowlers Jané Winster and Marnazelle Rabie and all-rounder Miceala Andrews were among Union Stars Cricket Club’s top performers at the tournament, which was played in Pretoria.

“The roles of the team manager Katrisha Strydom, player-coach Jané Winster and the captain Haroline Rhodes were highlighted together with the character of the players that has made the Western Cape, the Garden Route Badgers and Oudtshoorn very proud on this landmark achievement,” said Union Stars Cricket Club chairperson Michelle Weyers.

South Western Districts Cricket president Rudy Claassen added: “The development and elevation of women’s cricket on all levels is for many years a strategic objective of SWD Cricket and it was this was advocated by the board of directors.”

Avion Cricket Club’s Alysia Rudolph was named Bowler of the Tournament and Player of the Tournament. Wanderers Cricket Club’s Bianca Booyjens was named Batter of the Tournament.

More women’s cricket news