Taariq Gabriels breaks Craig Young’s 20-year Wynberg Cricket Club record

Taariq Gabriels.Taariq Gabriels.

Batsman Taariq Gabriels won several trophies at Wynberg Cricket Club’s awards ceremony for the 2021-22 Western Province Cricket Association season recently.

Gabriels was key to Wynberg Cricket Club’s 2021-22 WPCA first division C campaign and was named:

  • First XI Players’ Player of the Year;
  • Fielder of the Year;
  • Batsman of the Year; and
  • Player of the Year.

“We would like to congratulate Taariq on a fantastic performance overall. Taariq was awarded a number of awards, but he would be most proud of his Robbie Higgs Batsman of the Year trophy,” said Wynberg Cricket Club chairman Donavon Koen.

“He scored 847 runs in the season, which saw him break a 20-year club record previously set by Craig Young (749 runs in 2001-02).”

Other selected Wynberg Cricket Club award winners

Mohammed Rahman won Wynberg Cricket Club’s Leon Coetzer Bowling Trophy and shared the Neville Thornley Player of the Year award.

Goolam Taliep was named third division Player of the Year and shared the Gerry Bowers Best All-rounder award.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

More club cricket news