These cricketers are ‘on the radar for possible selection to the Proteas’, according to Cricket South Africa

File image: Tladi Bokako.

Victoria Cricket Club’s Tladi Bokako, Durbanville Cricket Club’s Pieter Malan and George Linde, Cape Town Cricket Club’s Kyle Verreynne and the University of the Western Cape Cricket Club’s Jason Smith have been named in Cricket South Africa’s conditioning programme.

The objective of the programme, according to CSA, is “to prepare players for selection for South Africa’s various international commitments during the 2019-20 season as well as during the current off-season.”

The 28-man programme includes 15 players already capped at Test, ODI or T20I level and 13 franchise cricketers, including Cape Cobras quintet Malan, Bokako, Verreynne, Smith and Linde.

“The reality of the situation is that we no longer have an off-season and we are about to embark on an exceptionally busy period of international cricket, starting with the World Cup later this month,” said CSA head: cricket pathways, Corrie van Zyl.

“The purpose of this squad, under the direction of SA A head coach Russell Domingo and SA A strength and conditioning specialist Tumi Masekela, with the assistance of the franchise coaches, is to ensure that these players are properly prepared and optimally conditioned for international cricket. It is also important to let them know that they are on the radar of the national selection panel for possible selection to the Proteas and SA A.”

Conditioning squad: Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Wiaan Mulder, Sarel Erwee, Senuran Muthusamy, Khaya Zondo, Junior Dala, Tony de Zorzi, Heinrich Klaasen, Chris Morris, Keegan Petersen, Gihahn Cloete, Sisanda Magala, Eddie Moore, Anrich Nortje, Sinethemba Qeshile, Rudi Second, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Tladi Bokako, Zubayr Hamza, George Linde, Janneman Malan, Pieter Malan, Dane Paterson, Dane Piedt, Jason Smith and Kyle Verreynne.