This is the acting president of CSA’s members’ council after Beresford Williams and others resign

File image: Rihan Richards.

Northern Cape Cricket president Rihan Richards has been appointed acting president of Cricket South Africa’s members’ council.

Richards’ appointment follows Sunday’s resignations of CSA acting president Beresford Williams and others.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. Comments disabled. No spam.

“Cricket South Africa would like to inform you of the resignations of its acting president Williams; Tebogo Siko, president of the Northerns Cricket Union; Angelo Carolissen, president of Boland Cricket; John Mogodi, deputy president of Limpopo Impala Cricket; and Donovan May, president of the Eastern Province Cricket Union,” said Richards.

“The resignations were handed in at the meeting of the members’ council held on Sunday, 25 October 2020.

“All resignations are with immediate effect except for three members, namely Zola Thamae, John Mogodi and Donovan May, who will remain as directors until the interim board structure has been appointed to ensure the continuity and stability of the organisation.

“The members’ council sincerely thanks every member who diligently served on the board, and selflessly sacrificed their time for extended and often, overwhelming periods, to assist Cricket South Africa in addressing some very burdensome conditions.

“We appreciate their commitment to cricket, and despite the turbulent economic climate, Cricket South Africa, under their leadership, received an unqualified audit for the financial year ending 30 April 2020. We wish them well in their future endeavours.”

Also last week, former fast bowler Victor Mpitsang was appointed CSA’s new convenor of selectors.

Also read