Three former Proteas included in Western Province Over-50 squad

Alan Dawson.Alan Dawson. ©MatchPixSA.

Three former Proteas have been named in the Western Province Over-50 squad for October 2022’s Veterans Cricket Association of South Africa inter-provincial tournament.

Claremont Cricket Club’s Alan Dawson, Western Province Cricket Club’s Steven Palframan and Cape Town Cricket Club’s Louis Koen have been included in the 16-man squad for the competition at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

Koen, who played five ODIs between 1997 and 2000, has been named captain.

🔔 Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

The majority of the squad were among the top performers in the 2021-22 Western Province Veterans Cricket Association league, which was won by Montrose Cricket Club.

The South Africa Over-50 squad will be announced after the inter-provincial tournament.

Western Province Over-50 squad

  1. Louis Koen (Cape Town Cricket Club)
  2. Mario Solomons (Montrose Cricket Club)
  3. Pat Lawson (Claremont Cricket Club)
  4. Munier Holliday (Victoria Cricket Club)
  5. Brandon Nash (Western Province Cricket Club)
  6. Alan Dawson (Claremont Cricket Club)
  7. Bruce Sharp (Claremont Cricket Club)
  8. Steven Palframan (Western Province Cricket Club)
  9. Goolam Taliep (Primrose Cricket Club)
  10. Grant Jansen (St Augustine Cricket Club)
  11. Deon Kemp (Montrose Cricket Club)
  12. Anwell Newman (Vredenburg Saldanha Cricket Club)
  13. Riaan van de Rheede (Green Point Cricket Club)
  14. Bruce Wilson (Claremont Cricket Club)
  15. Saleem Mukuddem (Primrose Cricket Club)
  16. Donovan Holman (Cape Town Cricket Club)

Non-travelling reserves

  • Peter Marx (Pinelands Cricket Club)
  • Nazeem White (Montrose Cricket Club)
  • Arthur Moore (Green Point Cricket Club)

More veterans cricket news

Be the first to comment on "Three former Proteas included in Western Province Over-50 squad"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.