Twin wins for Wyngaard at WP umpires awards

Warren Wyngaard.File image: Warren Wyngaard.

Warren Wyngaard was named Umpire of the Year at the Western Province Cricket Umpires Association awards this week.

The 2019-20 awards were allocated belatedly, after last season was cancelled amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Wyngaard, who recently graduated to Cricket South Africa’s reserve panel of umpires for the 2021-22 domestic season, also won the WPCUA award for the highest-rated premier league umpire.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

2019-20 WPCUA awards list

  • Rookie of the Year: Gaynor Sebola
  • Most Improved Umpire: Waldo Lategan
  • Keenest Umpire: Jefton Southern
  • Highest-rated first division D umpire: Godfrey Jacobs
  • Highest-rated first division D umpire runner-up: Masixole Siganga
  • Highest-rated first division C umpire: Francisco Bess
  • Highest-rated first division C umpire runner-up: Johannes Buys
  • Highest-rated first division B umpire: Frikkie Saayman
  • Highest-rated first division B umpire runner-up: Jacob de Jongh
  • Highest-rated first division A umpire: Chris Roos
  • Highest-rated first division A umpire runner-up: AK Sonday
  • Highest-rated premier league umpire: Warren Wyngaard
  • Highest-rated premier league umpire runner-up: Armeen Behardien
  • Umpire of the Year: Warren Wyngaard
File image: Gaynor Sabola.

File image: Gaynor Sebola.

Also read