Unbeaten Durbanville Cricket Club win 2019 National Club Championship title

Durbanville Cricket Club's Byron Boshoff an Pieter Malan.

Durbanville Cricket Club won the 2019 National Club Championship on Wednesday.

The Cape Town-based club went unbeaten across five fixtures at the annual tournament in Pretoria.

Saturday brought victory over Impala Cricket Club on the back of Cape Cobras batsman Pieter Malan’s unbeaten 87.

Sunday yielded a win against the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Cricket Club (Madibaz), as middle-order batsman Andre Malan and Jean Marais welcomed half-centuries.

Seamer Tashwin Lukas clinched a four-wicket haul in triumph over the University of Pretoria Cricket Club (Tuks) on Monday. Malan junior struck a century in Tuesday’s win over the University of the Free State Cricket Club (Kovsie).

Tuesday’s success against Clares Cricket Club capped a five-match winning streak – and ensured the title.

Durbanville Cricket Club qualified for this year’s National Club Championship after beating South Western Districts’ Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Cricket Club and Stellenbosch University Cricket Club (Maties) in the tournament qualifier at the Vineyard Oval in Claremont, Cape Town.

That was preceded by topping the 2018-19 Western Province Cricket Association premier league, in which Bellville Cricket Club and Cape Town Cricket Club finished in second and third position, respectively.