Vikings, Bulls out of CPL, Sixers, Phantoms advance

File image: Cape Vikings.File image: Cape Vikings. Credit: Visual Photography.

The Cape Vikings and Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls have been eliminated from contention for a berth in the final of the 2021 Cape Premier League.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

The Vikings and Bulls contested the inaugural final in 2019. The Vikings are the reigning champions. There was no CPL in 2020.

The Bo-Kaap Phantoms, Atlantic Pirates, Devil’s Peak Dragons and District Sixers have graduated to the play-offs of this season’s CPL. The Sixers finished in last position in the 2019 tournament.

The West Coast Outlaws and Peninsula Patriots, like the Vikings and Bulls, failed to advance to the 2021 CPL play-offs. This was the Outlaws and Vikings’ first CPL, which grew from six to eight teams between 2019 and this year.

The play-offs will happen at Durbanville Cricket Club on 3 October. The semi-finals will be played at Western Province Cricket Club on 9 October. Western Province Cricket Club will also host the final on 10 October.

CPL 2021 play-offs qualifiers

  • Devil’s Peak Dragons
  • Bo-Kaap Phantoms
  • District Sixers
  • Atlantic Pirates


  • Hoeri Kwaggo Bulls
  • Peninsula Patriots
  • West Coast Outlaws
  • Cape Vikings

Also read