Elsies River CC, Glamorgan CC form Vikings CC

File image: Glamorgan Cricket Club.
Elsies River Cricket Club and Glamorgan Cricket Club will amalgamate before the start of the 2021-22 Western Province Cricket Association club cricket season.

They will become Vikings Cricket Club – and compete in the 2021-22 WPCA first division A. Stan Abbott Park in the Cape Town suburb of Ruyterwacht will be their homeground.

🔔 Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

Glamorgan Cricket Club had been promoted to the WPCA first division A on the back of a relatively successful 2019-20 first division B campaign.

Elsies River Cricket Club, however, were due relegation to the WPCA first division C in the wake of a poor 2019-20 first division B campaign.

📌 Do you have confirmed club cricket news you want featured on Club Cricket SA? Email jw@clubcricket.co.za – thank you.

“Our amalgamation talks with Glamorgan Cricket Club have been all but concluded. The fruitful and candid discussions have led to the following,” said Elsies River Cricket Club chairman Mervyn Rhoda.

“The new entity will be known as Vikings Cricket Club – the name is synonymous with warriors, conquerors and being fearless.

“Glamorgan Cricket Club and Elsies River Cricket Club have been fierce rivals in the past. We played each other in the Ama20 Competition final in the past and Glamorgan Cricket Club won. When Elsies River won the WPCA first division C back in the day, Glamorgan Cricket Club were runners-up. It has been a solid rivalry.

“The two clubs’ sets of admin will be interwoven for two seasons. A normal annual general meeting, with the election of officials, will happen before the start of the third season since amalgamation.

“It is an immense opportunity to grow the game in the surrounding communities and provide sporting opportunities of excellence because of the improved infrastructure. We have an opportunity to be part of – and make – history.”

Elsies River Cricket Club were named WPCA club of the year in 2016.

Also read