Wales name squad for 14-team Over-50 World Cup in South Africa

Wales Over-50Wales Over-50. ©Matchpixsa

Wales have confirmed the squad for March 2023’s Over-50 World Cup in South Africa.

Wales have been pooled with Pakistan, England, South Africa, India, United Arab Emirates and Namibia for the 2023 tournament.

“All the players in the set-up are all actively involved in clubs throughout Wales, from Dolgellau in the north, Llanelli in the south west and Chepstow in the south east,” read a statement from Wales Over-50.

“These players remain active in their clubs as chairmen, treasurers, coaches and organisers. They continually put back into the game in Wales, where the clubs are the beating heart of Welsh cricket.”

Wales 2023 Over-50 World Cup squad

  1. John Jones (captain)
  2. Iwan Rees
  3. Steve Powell
  4. Paul Rees
  5. Julian Ballinger
  6. Jon Bussey
  7. Michael Cann
  8. Keri Chahal
  9. Mark Davies
  10. Roy Emmott
  11. Rowan Evans
  12. Phil Leeds
  13. Steve Maddock
  14. Malith Madurasinghe
  15. Matt Phillips
  16. Simon Wood

The 2023 tournament will feature 56 matches at several venues across Cape Town and surrounds, from 6 to 20 March. The final will be played at Newlands.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

2023 Over-50 World Cup divisions

Division A

  • Australia
  • West Indies
  • New Zealand
  • Zimbabwe
  • Canada
  • Sri Lanka
  • United States of America

Division B

  • Pakistan
  • England
  • South Africa
  • Wales
  • India
  • Namibia
  • United Arab Emirates

This is the second time the Over-50 World Cup has been played in South Africa. The 2020 edition was suspended amid the coronavirus pandemic.

MORE Over-50 World Cup news