Wayne Parnell recalled 1792 days since last T20I, only WP representative in squad

Wayne Parnell.Wayne Parnell.

All-rounder Wayne Parnell has been named in South Africa’s squad for next month’s T20I series in India.

Parnell returned to ODI cricket earlier this year, but has not played at T20I level since June 2017 – almost five years.

That period included a lengthy stint as a Kolpak player in English county cricket, which didn’t allow for Proteas inclusion.

Parnell is the only Western Province representative in the 16-man squad, which features five Titans, four Lions, three Warriors, two Dolphins and one North West player.

? Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp – club cricket news straight to your phone. User comments disabled, so no spam – just relevant news.

Proteas T20I squad

  1. Temba Bavuma (captain, Lions)
  2. Quinton de Kock (Titans)
  3. Reeza Hendricks (Lions)
  4. Heinrich Klaasen (Titans)
  5. Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins)
  6. Aiden Markram (Titans)
  7. David Miller (Dolphins)
  8. Lungi Ngidi (Titans)
  9. Anrich Nortje (Warriors)
  10. Wayne Parnell (Western Province)
  11. Dwaine Pretorius (North West)
  12. Kagiso Rabada (Lions)
  13. Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans)
  14. Tristan Stubbs (Warriors)
  15. Rassie van der Dussen (Lions)
  16. Marco Jansen (Warriors)

More latest SA cricket news