Wesley Bedja wins top awards after first season with Green Point Cricket Club

Wesley Bedja club cricket.Wesley Bedja (left) and Marc Callanan (right).

All-rounder Wesley Bedja was named Player of the Season at Green Point Cricket Club’s 2022-23 awards ceremony recently.

Bedja was also named All-rounder of the Season – and awarded for taking the most wickets in Green Point Cricket Club’s Western Province Cricket Association premier league XI.

This was Bedja’s first season at Green Point Cricket Club after moving from Rondebosch Cricket Club.

Junior cricketer Adnaan Lagadien was given the Major GB van Zyl Award for outstanding ability, promise, keenness and sportsmanship.

“It was another eventful season with numerous highlights. We thank all associated with the positive inputs to the club and the committee members serving with their time and passion for the community,” said Green Point Cricket Club chairman Marc Callanan.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Selected Green Point Cricket Club awards

First XI

  • Most runs: Zac Elkin
  • Most wickets: Wesley Bedja

Second XI

  • Most runs: Ryan Harley
  • Most wickets: Jarryd Daries

Third XI

  • Most runs: Brendon Stead
  • Most wickets: Prashant Makan


  • Team of the Year: Third XI, captained by Siya Buthelezi
  • Player of the Season: Wesley Bedja
  • All-rounder of the Season: Wesley Bedja
  • Fielder of the Season: Stuart McMillan
  • Most Improved Player of the Year: Nicholas Haupt
  • Chairman’s Award: Reuel Miller
  • Major GB van Zyl Award: Adnaan Lagadien

MORE WP club cricket AWARDS news