Western Province announce contracted squad for 2023-24 season

Onke Nyaku cricketOnke Nyaku.

Western Province’s contracted squad for South Africa’s 2023-24 domestic season has been announced.

Seamer Mthiwekhaya Nabe and all-rounder Onke Nyaku have been contracted by Western Province. Nabe and Nyaku have returned from the Warriors and South Western Districts, respectively.

Batsmen Zubayr Hamza and Aviwe Mgijima, spinner Junaid Dawood and seamer Tshepo Moreki have not been re-contracted by Western Province.

Hamza, Moreki and Dawood have joined the Lions. Mgijima has left for Boland.

All-rounder Ethan Cunningham has been excluded from Western Province’s contracted squad for the 2023-24 season.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Western Province 2023-24 contracted squad

  1. Wayne Parnell (nationally contracted)
  2. Kyle Verreynne
  3. Beuran Hendricks
  4. Tony de Zorzi
  5. Jono Bird
  6. Eddie Moore
  7. Daniel Smith
  8. George Linde
  9. Kyle Simmonds
  10. Yaseen Vallie
  11. Mihlali Mpongwana
  12. Dane Paterson
  13. Nandre Burger
  14. Onke Nyaku
  15. David Bedingham
  16. Mthiwekhaya Nabe
  17. Juan James (rookie contract)
  18. Valentine Kitime (rookie contract)
  19. Gavin Kaplan (high performance contract)
  20. Liyema Waqu (high performance contract)

What WP head coach Salieg Nackerdien said

“The 2023-24 squad is a good combination of youth and experience. It is encouraging that we have retained the majority of the squad that served us so well in the last season. I wish Zubayr, Tshepo, Aviwe, Junaid and Ethan all the best in the future,” said Nackerdien.

“I am looking forward to working with David and Mthiwekhaya again. Onke will bring further experience to the squad, and Juan and Valentine are exciting young cricketers. There will be a lot of hard work done in the off-season to make sure we hit the ground running in 2023-24.”

‘Always sad to lose players’

Western Province chief executive officer Michael Canterbury added: “Coach Salieg has been able to assemble a well-balanced squad. At WP we are always sad to lose players, but I want to thank those who are moving on for the contribution to the association and wish them well.

“At the same time, we are excited to welcome our new players and are confident that they will be able to make significant contributions in the upcoming season.”

WPCA president Ashraf Burns concluded: “Despite the loss of our senior players Zubayr, Tshepo and Aviwe, we were still able to contract a balanced squad that should be competitive in all formats.

“We wish them well in pursuit of their cricketing careers. This will also be an opportune time for Jono Bird, Daniel Smith and Mihlali Mpongwana to launch their careers. Welcome back Bedingham, Nabe and James – and welcome to newcomers Nyaku and Kitime.”

MORE latest SA domestic cricket news