Western Province Cricket Club fast bowler picked for SA Under-19

Michael CohenFile image: Michael Cohen (left).

Western Province Cricket Club’s Michael Cohen has been named in the South Africa Under-19 squad, ahead of January and February 2017’s triangular series with Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka.

Left-arm fast bowler Cohen took six wickets in four matches for the Cobras Cubs during early January’s Cricket South Africa Cubs Week in Stellenbosch – and proved particularly impressive against a strong South Africa Under-17s Invitation XI.

Prior to the CSA Cubs Week, he cherished a solid stretch of form for Western Province Under-19s in December 2016’s Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week – and South African Schools in the Coca-Cola Under-19s Cup.

The 18-year-old Cohen, too, has been vital to defending champions Western Province Cricket Club’s rise to second position in the ongoing 2016-17 Western Province Cricket Association premier league.

“It is an exciting group of players. It was tough to pick the side, but I think we’ve got the right balance from a long-term and a short-term point of view,” said South Africa Under-19 coach Lawrence Mahatlane.

“It is important to note that we were looking at how the guys have done throughout the year – and how we believe they will perform against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.”

Convenor of selectors Victor Mpitsang added: “We are already thinking about the next World Cup – and what I’m most happy about is that most of the guys selected also qualify for 2018. That being said, I am really happy with the balance of the side – and I think that we have a winning combination in our hands.”

South Africa Under-19 and their Zimbabwean and Sri Lankan counterparts will meet for 13 youth ODIs in Stellenbosch, Cape Town, Paarl and Oudtshoorn between 11 January and 5 February.

The three Cape Town fixtures will be played at Western Province Cricket Club’s Wally Wilson Oval – Cohen’s home ground.

Squad: Wiaan Mulder (capain), Matthew Breetzke, Jesse Christensen, Michael Cohen, Jade de Klerk, Ruan de Swardt, Siphamandla Kwreqe, Wandile Makwetu, Mohammed Mayet, Akhona Mnyaka, Jason Niemand, Lutho Sipamla, Keenan Smith, Mitchell van Buuren, Raynard van Tonder.