Western Province Over-40 crowned inter-provincial tournament champions

WP 040Western Province Over-40.

Western Province Over-40 beat East Rand Over-40 by 54 runs in Friday’s inter-provincial tournament final at Wanderers Cricket Club in Johannesburg.

Western Province Over-40 recovered from 15 for three to post a final total of 205 for seven in 45 overs. East Rand Over-40 had won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Ashley Fernandez and Jaco Castle top-scored with 61 each – and Wayne Hendricks hit 34 not out – for Western Province Over-40.

East Rand Over-40’s reply enjoyed a fruitful start on the back of Kyle Smit’s 23 from 11 deliveries. Castle then ran out Smit with a direct hit.

Andre Steyn and Pieter Booysen kept East Rand Over-40 in the contest with 32 and 41, respectively.

After Daniel Styer and Ridiwaan Williams collected two wickets each, Hendricks too four more for Western Province Over-40. East Rand Over-40 fell to 151 all out in 38.1 overs.

Hendricks was named Player of the Match.

Western Province Over-40 remained undefeated throughout the tournament. They also beat Eastern Province Over-40, Dolphins Over-40 and Titans Over-40.

The South Africa Over-40 squad will be announced later today.

Third-place, fifth-place, seventh-place play-offs

Lions Over-40 beat Eastern Province by 202 runs in the third-place play-off.

Titans Over-40 beat Border Over-40 by three wickets in the fifth-place play-off.

Dolphins Over-40 beat Boland Over-40 by seven wickets in the seventh-place play-off.

More inter-provincial tournament (IPT) news