Western Province quartet named in South Africa Under-19 squad

Liyema Waqu.Liyema Waqu.

Western Province cricketers Juan James, Meeka-eel Prince, Liyema Waqu and Abdallah Bayoumy have been included in South Africa Under-19’s latest squad.

The squad will participate in division two limited-overs cricket during South Africa’s 2022-23 domestic season.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

South Africa Under-19 squad

  1. George Van Heerden (Boland)
  2. Liam Alder (Lions)
  3. Matthew Boast (Titans)
  4. Abdallah Bayoumy (Western Province)
  5. Schalk Engelbrecht (Titans)
  6. Thebe Gazedi (Lions)
  7. Ronan Herrmann (Lions)
  8. Juan James (Western Province)
  9. Kwena Maphaka (Lions)
  10. Dewan Marais (Easterns)
  11. Aphiwe Mnyanda (Eastern Province)
  12. Meeka-eel Prince (Western Province)
  13. Richard Seletswane (Lions)
  14. David Teeger (Lions)
  15. Liyema Waqu (Western Province)

What SA Under-19 head coach Shukri Conrad said

“This is a great opportunity for our boys to get together and start the process that culminates in the Under-19 World Cup in two years’ time,” said Conrad.

“These are the first building blocks in that process. We have hosted camps in the last few weeks, looking at Under-17 and Under-19 players to refine the identification process.”

What SA Under-19 convenor of selectors Patrick Moroney said

“We are very fortunate that this team sets our youngsters up for their professional careers,” said Moroney.

“A number of players are contracted with our domestic teams for the upcoming bumper season, and this has opened up opportunities for players in the CSA pipeline.

“It is crucial to note that this is work in progress to begin the road to 2024. We have a lot of players in the system that we are working with and will have the opportunity to come through with the team as preparations continue.”

More SA cricket news