WP Over-40 fast bowler Dan Styer wins Bergvliet Cricket Club awards

Daniel Styer cricketDan Styer.

Fast bowler Dan Styer was named the best first XI bowler – and won the trophy for taking the most wickets overall – at Bergvliet Cricket Club’s awards ceremony for the 2022-23 season recently.

Bergvliet Cricket Club have been promoted to the 2023-24 Western Province Cricket Association first division C after a successful 2022-23 first division D campaign.

They are the reigning Ama20 Competition first division D champions.

Styer, meanwhile, has been selected for Western Province Over-40. They will compete in May 2023’s inter-provincial tournament in Johannesburg.

Selected Bergvliet Cricket Club awards

First XI

  • Best batsman: Brydon Karsten
  • Best bowler: Dan Styer
  • Best fielder: Alex Borodin
  • Most improved player: Alex Borodin
  • Players’ Player of the Season: Calvyn Niedermeyer

Second XI

  • Best batsman: Jesse Davids
  • Best bowler: Jamie Davids
  • Best fielder: Lloyd Burnard
  • Most improved player: Craig Lawrence
  • Players’ Player of the Season: Craig Lawrence

Third XI

  • Best batsman: Justin Moreland
  • Best bowler: Wesley Saffier
  • Best fielder: Brendan De Wet
  • Most improved player: Shaun Smit
  • Players’ Play of the Season: Justin Moreland

Fourth XI

  • Best batsman: Alain Petersen
  • Best bowler: Tim Grewen
  • Best fielder: Josh De Mink
  • Most improved player: Pierre de Villiers
  • Players’ Player of the Season: Alain Petersen


  • Rookie of the Year: Josh Morris
  • Leading run-scorer overall: Alain Petersen
  • Leading wicket-taker overall: Dan Styler
  • Club Man of the Year: Marcy Gaffley
  • The Bergvliet Cricket Club Award: Pieter Greeff
  • Jonathan Thomas Award – Team of the Year: First XI and Second XI
  • Village Cricketer of the Year: Shaun Smit

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

MORE WP club cricket AWARDS news