Zim Afro T10 – Player draft and full squads: Donovan Ferreira to Harare Hurricanes

Duan Jansen Zim Afro T10Duan Jansen.

The Harare Hurricanes signed South African duo Duan Jansen and Donovan Ferreira during Monday, 3 July 2023’s player draft for the inaugural edition of the Zim Afro T10.

The Cape Town Army and Durban Qalandars secured West Indies fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell and New Zealand batsman Tim Seifert, respectively.

The Joburg Buffaloes gained English duo Will Smeed and Ravi Bopara.

The Bulawayo Braves recruited Sri Lanka all-rounder Thisara Perera and Bangladesh fast bowler Taskin Ahmed.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

UPDATED Zim Afro T10 player draft and full squads

Harare Hurricanes squad

  1. Shantha Sreenath
  2. Irfan Pathan
  3. Chris Mpofu
  4. Duan Jansen (withdrawn)
  5. Donovan Ferreira
  6. Mohammad Nabi
  7. Khalid Shah
  8. Samit Patel
  9. Kevin Koththigoda
  10. Luke Jongwe
  11. Regis Chakabva
  12. Tashinga Musekiwa
  13. Brandon Mavuta
  14. Eoin Morgan (pre-draft signing)
  15. Evin Lewis (pre-draft signing)
  16. Shahnawaz Dahani (pre-draft signing)
  17. Robin Uthappa (pre-draft signing)
  18. Nandre Burger

Cape Town Samp Army squad

  1. Stuart Binny
  2. Parthiv Patel
  3. Richard Ngarava
  4. Sheldon Cottrell
  5. Chamika Karunaratne
  6. Peter Hatzoglou
  7. Matthew Breetzke
  8. Cephas Zhuwao
  9. Mohammad Irfan
  10. Tadiwanashe Marumani
  11. Tinashe Kamunhukamwe
  12. Sean Williams
  13. Hamilton Masakadza
  14. Bhanuka Rajapaksa (pre-draft signing)
  15. Karim Janat (pre-draft signing)
  16. Rahmanullah Gurbaz (pre-draft signing)
  17. Maheesh Theekshana (pre-draft signing)

Durban Qalandars squad

  1. Craig Ervine
  2. Hilton Cartwright
  3. Andre Fletcher
  4. Tendai Chatara
  5. Brad Evans
  6. Clive Madande
  7. Nick Welch
  8. Mirza Baig
  9. Tayab Abbas
  10. Tim Seifert
  11. Mohammad Amir
  12. Asif Ali (pre-draft signing)
  13. Sisanda Magala (pre-draft signing)
  14. George Linde (pre-draft signing)
  15. Hazratullah Zazai (pre-draft signing)

Joburg Buffaloes squad

  1. Blessing Muzarabani
  2. Ravi Bopara
  3. Will Smeed
  4. Wellington Masakadza
  5. Rahul Chopra
  6. Mohammad Hafeez
  7. Milton Shumba
  8. Victor Nyauchi
  9. Wesley Madhevere
  10. Usman Shinwari
  11. Junior Dala
  12. Delano Potgieter
  13. Odean Smith
  14. Yusuf Pathan (pre-draft signing)
  15. Mushfiqur Rahim (pre-draft signing)
  16. Tom Banton (pre-draft signing)
  17. Noor Ahmed (pre-draft signing)

Bulawayo Braves squad

  1. Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  2. Ryan Burl
  3. Beau Webster
  4. Thisara Perera
  5. Taskin Ahmed
  6. Timycen Maruma
  7. Patrick Dooley
  8. Kobe Herft
  9. Faraz Akram
  10. Joylord Gumbie
  11. Innocent Kaia
  12. Sikandar Raza (pre-draft signing)
  13. Ashton Turner (pre-draft signing)
  14. Tymal Mills (pre-draft signing)
  15. Ben McDermott (pre-draft signing)

Zim Afro T10 background

The five-team Zim Afro T10 is scheduled for 20 to 29 July. All the matches will be played in Harare.

The tournament is effectively an extension of the Abu Dhabi T10, which is owned by T Ten Sports Management.

T Ten Global Sports founder and chairman Nawab Shaji Ul Mulk said: “To bring the T10 to Zimbabwe has been high on the agenda for us in the recent past, and that we are on the home stretch ahead of the inaugural edition of the tournament, is a source of great satisfaction for me.

“This is a red-letter day in the history of the sport. There will be another landmark on the day of the player draft. We can’t wait to get things rolling and welcome the best of the best players to Harare.”

Zimbabwe Cricket managing director Givemore Makoni added: “We are in the final stages ahead of the Zim Afro T10’s inaugural edition. This gives me immense joy, because to see this play out in reality has been a dream for all of the Zimbabwean cricket family.

“It is a watershed moment in the history of the sport in the country. The fans, I am sure, are keenly waiting for the opening day.”

MORE latest Zim Afro T10 news