Dolphins Over-40 finalise squad for inter-provincial tournament

Marc Shepard cricketMarc Shepard.

The Dolphins Over-40 squad for May 2023’s inter-provincial tournament has been confirmed.

The 16-man squad features five representatives from King Cetshwayo Cricket District Cricket Club, four from Amanzimtoti Cricket Club and three from Durban High School Rhythm Cricket Club.

Ilembe Cricket District Cricket Club and East Coast Cricket Club have two representatives each.

Get Club Cricket SA news on Whatsapp

Dolphins Over-40 squad

  1. Charl Groenewald
  2. Ronald Harrison
  3. Johan Van Niekerk
  4. Adhir Maharaj
  5. Asif Dhooma
  6. Cameron Ganesh
  7. Alli Lagari
  8. Donald Cloete
  9. Marc Shepard
  10. Leon van der Westhuizen
  11. Chris Govender
  12. Derick Snyman
  13. Robert Gouws
  14. Paul Gouge
  15. Mohammed Mather
  16. Zahid Akthar

The inter-provincial tournament will feature former Proteas cricketers. Batsman Alviro Petersen and seamer Garnett Kruger have been selected for the Lions Over-40 squad. Batsman Ashwell Prince will captain Western Province Over-40.

Several former first-class cricketers will participate in the tournament as well, including Lions Over-40 quintet Matthew Harris, Warren Dugmore, Johan Fourie, Gareth Flusk and Solmzi Ndima.

Titans Over-40 have former Cape Cobras batsman Derek Brand. East Rand Over-40 have former Dolphins batsman Kyle Smit.

Over-40 inter-provincial tournament background

Wanderers Cricket Club and Old Edwardians Cricket Club will host the inter-provincial tournament, which will feature eight teams:

The tournament is scheduled to start on 8 May and end on 12 May. Matches will be contested over 45 overs per innings.

South Africa will host the Over-40 World Cup in 2024. South Africa hosted the Over-50 World Cup earlier this year.

More Over-40 inter-provincial tournament (IPT) news