Updated SA20 teams, squads and players

Are you looking for the latest, updated information about the SA20 teams and SA20 squads for the 2024 tournament? You are in the right place.

SA20 teams

The second edition of the SA20 will feature six teams.

  1. Durban’s Super Giants
  2. Joburg Super Kings
  3. MI Cape Town
  4. Paarl Royals
  5. Pretoria Capitals
  6. Sunrisers Eastern Cape

SA20 squads – local and overseas players

These are the six final squads, which were filled after the 27 September 2023 player auction – and updated in early January 2024.

Durban’s Super Giants

  1. Prenelan Subrayen
  2. Quinton de Kock
  3. Tony de Zorzi
  4. Naveen-ul-Haq (Afghanistan)
  5. Kyle Mayers (West Indies)
  6. Reece Topley (England)
  7. Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka)
  8. Dwaine Pretorius
  9. Keshav Maharaj
  10. Keemo Paul (West Indies)
  11. Heinrich Klaasen
  12. Wiaan Mulder
  13. Noor Ahmad (Afghanistan)
  14. Jon-Jon Smuts
  15. Matthew Breetzke
  16. Junior Dala
  17. Nicholas Pooran (West Indies)
  18. Marcus Stoinis (Australia)
  19. Richard Gleeson (England)
  20. Jason Smith
  21. Bryce Parsons (rookie)

Joburg Super Kings

  1. Gerald Coetzee
  2. Faf du Plessis
  3. Moeen Ali (England)
  4. David Wiese (Namibia)
  5. Zahir Khan (Afghanistan)
  6. Sam Cook (England)
  7. Leus du Plooy
  8. Reeza Hendricks
  9. Lizaad Williams
  10. Nandre Burger
  11. Donovan Ferreira
  12. Aaron Phangiso
  13. Sibonelo Makhanya
  14. Kyle Simmonds
  15. Wayne Madsen (England)
  16. Dayyaan Galiem
  17. Romario Shepherd (West Indies)
  18. Ronan Herrmann (rookie)
  19. Imran Tahir

MI Cape Town

  1. Dewald Brevis
  2. Kagiso Rabada
  3. Kieron Pollard (West Indies)
  4. Sam Curran (England)
  5. Liam Livingstone (England)
  6. Tom Banton (England)
  7. Rassie van der Dussen
  8. Delano Potgieter
  9. Ryan Rickelton
  10. George Linde
  11. Beuran Hendricks
  12. Nuwan Thushara
  13. Duan Jansen
  14. Olly Stone (England)
  15. Grant Roelofsen
  16. Chris Benjamin
  17. Neelan van Heerden
  18. Thomas Kaber
  19. Connor Esterhuizen (rookie)

Paarl Royals

  1. Nqaba Peter
  2. David Miller
  3. Jos Buttler (England)
  4. Obed McCoy (West Indies)
  5. Tabraiz Shamsi
  6. Lungi Ngidi
  7. Jason Roy (England)
  8. Andile Phehlukwayo
  9. Dane Vilas
  10. Bjorn Fortuin
  11. Mitchell van Buuren
  12. Wihan Lubbe
  13. Ferisco Adams
  14. Codi Yusuf
  15. Evan Jones
  16. Fabian Allen (West Indies)
  17. Lorcan Tucker (Ireland)
  18. Keith Dudgeon
  19. John Turner (England)

Pretoria Capitals

  1. Migael Pretorius
  2. Hardus Viljoen
  3. Colin Ackermann (Netherlands)
  4. Rilee Rossouw
  5. Colin Ingram
  6. Senuran Muthusamy
  7. Wayne Parnell
  8. Theunis De Bruyn
  9. Adil Rashid (England)
  10. Will Jacks (England)
  11. Eathan Bosch
  12. Shane Dadswell
  13. Corbin Bosch
  14. Matthew Boast
  15. Jacques Snyman
  16. Kyle Verreynne
  17. Daryn Dupavillon
  18. Tiaan van Vuuren
  19. Phil Salt

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

  1. Ottniel Baartman
  2. Aiden Markram
  3. Liam Dawson (England)
  4. Dawid Malan (England)
  5. Marco Jansen
  6. Tristan Stubbs
  7. Patrick Kruger
  8. Brydon Carse (England)
  9. Simon Harmer
  10. Temba Bavuma
  11. Sarel Erwee
  12. Jordan Hermann
  13. Aya Gqamane
  14. Adam Rossington (England)
  15. Tom Abell (England)
  16. Caleb Saleka
  17. Beyers Swanepoel
  18. Andile Simelane (rookie)
  19. Fareed Ahmad

SA20 rules and playing conditions

  • Each captain can nominate 13 players to take the field before the toss. After the toss, each captain can select their final starting XI and the remainder of the players will automatically become substitute players.
  • The winning team will be awarded four points and a bonus-point win generating five points. The bonus point will be awarded to a team who achieves a run rate of 1.25 times that of the opposition. In case of a no result, both teams will be awarded two points, while the losing team will not receive any points.
  • The pace of play will be protected without suspensions, with captains charged with in-game penalties for slow over-rates through fielding restrictions.
  • There has been an amendment to the free-hit rule – a bowled dismissal can’t lead to byes if the ball ricochets off the stumps.
  • No runs can be taken off an intentional attempt to run out the batter if a direct hit deflects off the stumps.
  • There will be two strategic time-outs of two minutes, 30 seconds each¬† per innings.
  • Six powerplay overs will be implemented, with only two fielders allowed outside the 30-yard circle.
  • In the event of teams finishing on equal points, the right to progress through to the final and those to play in the play-off will be determined as follows:

> The team with the most number of wins

> If still equal, the team with the highest number of bonus points

> If still equal, the team with the highest net run rate

> If still equal, the team with the most number of wins over the other team(s) who are equal on points and have the same number of wins

> If still equal, the team with the highest runs to wickets ratio throughout the tournament

> If still equal, the team with the highest wickets to runs ratio throughout the tournament

  • In a match declared as a no-result, run-rate is not applicable.
  • The first semi-final will include the team finishing top of the group stages against the team finishing fourth. The second semi-final will be between the teams finishing second and third respectively. The winners of the two semi-finals will contest the final.

SA20 league coaches

These are the head coaches in the 2024 SA20.

Durban’s Super Giants coach – Lance Klusener

Lance Klusener is Durban’s Super Giants coach. Klusener will be supported by bowling coach Morne Morkel at Durban’s Super Giants.

Joburg Super Kings coach – Stephen Fleming

Stephen Fleming is the Joburg Super Kings coach. He is also the head coach of the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League.

Eric Simons and Albie Morkel are among Fleming’s support staff at the Joburg Super Kings.

MI Cape Town coach – Robin Peterson

Robin Peterson succeeded Simon Katich as MI Cape Town head coach in September 2023 – and Lasith Malinga succeeded Jacob Oram as bowling coach.

Paarl Royals coach – Shane Bond

Shane Bond is the Paarl Royals coach. He replaced JP Duminy ahead of the 2024 SA20.

Pretoria Capitals coach – Graham Ford

Graham Ford is the Pretoria Capitals coach. Ford previously coached the Proteas and Ireland.

Ford’s assistant coaches at the Pretoria Capitals are Jacques Kallis and Dale Benkenstein.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape coach – Adrian Birrell

Adrian Birrell is the Sunrisers Eastern Cape coach. He previously coached the Paarl Rocks in the Mzansi Super League – and has worked with Ireland and the Proteas.

This is Birrell’s support staff at the Sunrisers Eastern Cape:

  • Assistant coach: Baakier Abrahams
  • Batting coach: Hemang Bedani
  • Bowling coach: Dale Steyn
  • Fielding coach: Ryan Cook

SA20 league venues

These are the six host venues for the 2024 SA20.

SA20 team SA20 stadium City
Durban’s Super Giants Kingsmead Durban
Joburg Super Kings Wanderers Johannesburg
MI Cape Town Newlands Cape Town
Paarl Royals Boland Park Paarl
Pretoria Capitals SuperSport Park Centurion
Sunrisers Eastern Cape St George’s Park Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth)

SA20 captains

These are the captains in the SA20.

  • Durban’s Super Giants – Keshav Maharaj
  • Joburg Super Kings – Faf du Plessis
  • MI Cape Town¬† – Kieron Pollard
  • Paarl Royals – David Miller
  • Pretoria Capitals – Wayne Parnell
  • Sunrisers Eastern Cape – Aiden Markram